CALIFORNIA VS LOUISIANA CHILD CAR SEAT LAWS
In Louisiana, Children under age 1 year or less than 20 lbs. must be restrained in a rear-facing child safety seat vs California, where children under age 2, and under 40 lbs. or under 40”, must be properly secured in a rear-facing child restraint system.
In Louisiana, children ages 1 until 4 or 20-40 lbs. must be restrained in a forward-facing child safety seat. 4 up to 6 years old and from 40 to 60 lbs. must ride in a belt-positioning booster seat (backless or high-backed). When the passenger side front airbag is active, children younger than age 6 or less than 60 lbs. must be in the rear seat, if available.
Children ages 6 until 13 or more than 60 lbs. lap-shoulder belt or belt-positioning booster seat. (It is also recommended that the child be at least 4 ft 9 inches tall).
In California, children under age 8 and under 57” must be properly secured in a child restraint system. All other children age 8 to 16 or over 57″ must be secured in a properly fitted seat belt. Effective January 1, 2017, children under age 8 must be restrained in a child passenger restraint system in the rear seat.
California law specifically requires children to be properly restrained, meaning the lap belt is low on the hips, touching the upper thighs, and the shoulder belt is crossing the center of the chest. Children in rear-facing car seats may not ride in front if there is an active passenger air bag.